This 21 room architectural masterpiece was designed by Charles Christian Hook and is one of the region's best examples of Chateauesque style. The home has recently undergone a two year extensive renovation to the interior, exterior, and grounds.
Hand-carved double front doors open into a vestibule, leading through a set of double beveled glass doors into the large baronial hall featuring the main stairway. Original marble mosaic tile floors welcome visitors as they view the magnificent stained glass windows that adorn almost every window in the house.
The vestibule, reception hall, and dining room have Greek key bordered mosaic tiled floors, with wood floors dominating the rest of the interior. The first floor reception area also includes a drawing room and library, with beautiful moldings, wainscoting and fireplaces.
Unique to this year's OctoberTour™, the house in its entirety will be open for visitors to tour. This includes the third floor ballroom, which in earlier days was used as a play/game room by the Wallaces, and has often hosted Boy and Girl Scout troops, church youth groups, and art lessons. During World War II, this room was lined with sewing machines, used by area matrons to provide material for the war effort. The property includes a fully restored 1915-era playhouse and an orginal granite stable/servant quarters/carriage house.
Named to the National Register of Historic Places in 1998, the Hambley-Wallace house is open to the public once more this year, affording visitors a rare peek at one of the most unique homes in the region.